a real world Ranyhyn

Baseball, Basketball, Footbal, Soccer, Curling, Poker, ect...

Moderators: Lord Mhoram, StevieG, hierachy

duchess of malfi
The Gap Into Spam

a real world Ranyhyn

Post by duchess of malfi »

If there was ever a real life real world horse even close to being a Ranyhyn, it is the all time great California based racing mare Zenyatta.

She has 19 starts, 19 victories - most of them in important stakes races, including her being the only female to ever win the Breeder's Cup Classic. Right now she is tied for the North American record for the most consecutive wins, along with a mare named Pepper's Pride, who raced only in New Mexico. And the majority of Zenyatta's wins have come with her carrying a lot more weight than her opponents.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=7qUZXtTzT6M

But it is more than just the wins. This mare has so much personality! Before her races she dances and prances and paws the earth in self-taught dance moves. And she is a huge hambone - she knows when the cameras are out and poses for them. :lol: And when he owners and trainer bring disabled children out to meet her, she is so gentle with them. She stands as still as a rock and lets the little ones pat her - as if she knows they are vulnerable, knows that she must be very careful with the tiny human foals.

She knows where the finish line is, and runs just as fast as she needs to to get her head in front at the wire - her jockey says that she has gears left over she has never hit in any race.

You cannot watch this mare and not know how much joy she finds in her life and in matching herself against other horses.

Anyway, at age 6 she is getting up there in years for a race horse, and after one more race she is being retired so she can become a mother.