The Chrons and Classic Dramatic Structure.

A place to discuss the entirety of the Chronicles of Thomas Covenant.

Moderators: kevinswatch, aliantha

peter
The Gap Into Spam

The Chrons and Classic Dramatic Structure.

Post by peter »

I'm no expert on Classical Literary Criticism but I do believe that it was Aristotle in his analysis of dramatid structure that said that a work should have a beginning, prior to which no event in the ensuing tale should have any bearing unless it is described in the text; a middle [which speaks for itself I think], and an end after which no question remains unsettled or unanswered.

Clearly things have moved on in the last few thousand years and these rules are by no means hard and fast, nor need to be slavishly adhered to in order to produce a satisfying tale, but nevertheless they remain a good framework for constructing a story. I wondered to what extent the Chrons, taken either individually or indeed as a whole, actually satisfy these criteria; could it be for example that early Donaldson does indeed conform to this classical approach, but in his maturity and with success firmly under his belt, he was less constrained in his approach and less bound to convention - freer if you like to make his audience work for their supper. Any thoughts?
The truth is a Lion and does not need protection. Once free it will look after itself.

....and the glory of the world becomes less than it was....
'Have we not served you well'
'Of course - you know you have.'
'Then let it end.'

We are the Bloodguard
wayfriend

Post by wayfriend »

LFB, TIW, TPTP: Beginning, Middle, End.