Portrayal of Women in TCOTC

A place to discuss the books in the FC and SC. *Please Note* No LC spoilers allowed in this forum. Do so in the forum below.

Moderators: kevinswatch, Orlion

na-ring wielder
Servant of the Land

Portrayal of Women in TCOTC

Post by na-ring wielder »

HI

I was wondeing if there had been any discussions on the portrayal of women in the discussion forum (I'm a newbie)

It seems to me that the female characters are much better defined than in other fantasy books (particularly LOTR)

As a man I find the female characters quite believable.....reflecting the characteristics of women I have met throughout my life. Do any women have any views on this subject?....or on the portrayal of men....TC himself is the perfect Anti-hero as there is a little of him in all of us.

Contradiction is the essence of life!

J
variol son
The Gap Into Spam

Post by variol son »

I love the female characters in all of Donaldson's works. Elena, Osondrea, Tamarantha, Shetra, Loerya, Amatin, Atiaran, Lena, Linden, Morn, Mikka, Min, Koina, Sorus, the list goes on. I don't want to rubbish the journeys of Covenant or Angus or Davies, but I have always found the female chaacters to be much fuller.

Sum sui generis
Vs
You do not hear, and so you cannot be redeemed.

In the name of their ancient pride and humiliation, they had made commitments with no possible outcome except bereavement.

He knew only that they had never striven to reject the boundaries of themselves.
duchess of malfi
The Gap Into Spam

Post by duchess of malfi »

Donaldson has wonderful female characters -- for example, I have long thought that Princess Myste functions as sort of a personal mouthpiece for the author's idealism in his Mordant duology. She has these wonderful lines about the nature of people. :)

He is not afraid to show women as both strong and as fragile -- and everything in between, as with Terisa, Morn, and Linden. 8)
Love as thou wilt.

fightingmyinstincts
Giantfriend

re