What are your favourite periods in history, and why?

Those who do not learn history are doomed to use this quote over and over again.

Moderators: danlo, Damelon

Revan
Drool Rockworm's Servant

What are your favourite periods in history, and why?

Post by Revan »

History, there is so much of it to cover. I find myself captivated by many periods in time; and rather jaded when it comes to other periods. Personally I find ancient Egyptian, the American Civil War, British Empire and 20th century politics and wars give me an infinite amount of interest.

The Egyptians interest me because their culture, and beliefs are undeniably intriguing. I am studying the American Civil War at the moment in history; some revelations regarding the entire black civil rights movement and Abraham Lincoln gave the order to his high general to form a “Scorch earth policy” on the confederates. The British Empire for many reasons; I find it amazing that a small Island can form the largest empire this world has ever seen. The 20th century because more, I think, has happened to transform the world in these years than any other period of time; both politically and technologically.

So what are your favourite periods in time, and why? How have you gone about exercising your interest in that period?
A Gunslinger
The Gap Into Spam

Post by A Gunslinger »

European: I am a Rennaisance man myself. Also I am very enamored with the Old Celtic period.

As far as American history, I very intrigued by the pre-depression era of the 20's, as well as the early cold war (late 50's early 60's) era. Had I a time machine, I'd be hangin' out in Roswell with a camera!
"I use my gun whenever kindness fails"

ImageImage
Warmark
Lord

Post by Warmark »

I'm quite insterested in the Romans and greeks, i find them quite interesting to read about, the wars, the political intrigues (sp :?) all good stuff.

I remember being very fond of the Vikings when i was younger aswell. :D