In the kitchen with Cail.....

Learn how to make Spring Wine and aliantha cookies.

Moderator: Menolly

Cail
Lord

In the kitchen with Cail.....

Post by Cail »

....Or, how I learned to quit bitching and just make my own stuff.

....Or, everyone's favorite Conservative readjusts to single life and feeding himself.

So anyway, I was griping to Cailette yesterday that there just aren't any decent store-bought chocolate chip cookies available, and it occurred to me: before my soul was sucked out by the she-devil I was married to, I used to be one helluva cook & baker. In fact, I did both for a living for a while.

So I set off today to make the Best Damn Chocolate Chip Cookies. Ever.

"But Cail", you protest, "how can you possibly bake the Best Damn Chocolate Chip Cookies when Cruella has all of your wonderful kitchen implements held hostage in your kitchen, which is nine miles away from your apartment?"

Simple, I'll adopt the motto of the United States Marine Corps; Adapt and Overcome. (all apologies to the USMC if that's not their motto, and all apologies to whoever's it actually is if, in fact, it's not the USMC's. But I digress.).

The Kitchen: Well, there's a stove (gas), a microwave, a sink, and a fridge. I have a wind-up timer that ticks and goes "ding". I have a few really, really cheap pots and pans, a knock-off glass measuring cup (it literally says "Dyrex" on the side), and a spatula set that cost $1.99. Why haven't I replaced all the cool stuff that I used to have? Because I'm cheap (blame my Scottish blood), and I refuse to buy things twice when there's a pretty good chance I'll get some of that stuff back.

The Ingredients: After a little research on the 'net, I decided to stay relatively close to the Toll House recipe, with a few notable modifications. Gotta, gotta, gotta have dark chocolate.

-2 sticks, Land 'O Lakes unsalted butter
-1 cup, Domino dark brown sugar, tightly packed
-3/4 cup, regular Domino sugar
-2-1/2 cups, Gold Label All-Purpose flour