Aesir: Alternate Pantheon?

Moderator: Goatkiller666

Fist and Faith
Magister Vitae

Aesir: Alternate Pantheon?

Post by Fist and Faith »

Anybody up for another Pantheon game? I'd kinda like to try my hand as a GM. And I'd really like to have stuff going on while waiting for P3 results. I asked Xar if it would be cool to run another Pantheon game, staggered with P3. Deadline would always be two weeks after P3 deadlines, so there'd be planning and diplomacy going on while waiting for Xar to do results. Here's what I'm thinking so far. It's based on two things: Pantheon, of course; the fact that I have no experience as a GM. So I have a basis for things, and it's not going to be as complex as Pantheon.

First off, only one domain each. No point in me getting into that mess. Heh.

Second, deities can only use their DRPs themselves. No giving some to another deity.

The basics is this... Ever see the TNG episode Who Watches the Watchers? A planet named Mintaka III has Vulcan-like people. Highly logical, no religion. (Even pointy ears.) They end up thinking Picard is God. "He is the Picard." I'm thinking of a similar situation for AltP. A bunch of villages, each with 1,000 people. Not as advanced as the Mintakans, their villages are just collections of huts. Like the Mintakans, they're non-religious. Until AltP's deities show up.

So, lots of villages scattered around. Every deity starts with, of course, a DR of 1. What I'm thinking is this: When you control 2 villages, you get your 2nd DRP. Your 3rd DRP comes when you control 10 villages. 4th DRP with 20. I want things to move slowly, since I'm entirely new to this. If the first few turns already show bigger growth than I think I can handle so soon, I might have to up those numbers. :lol: I don't want to change rules around, but, again, I'm completely new to this, and I could easily see things getting beyond my control if I'm not careful.