Archive From The 'Tank
Rigel
The Gap Into Spam

Wall Street

Post by Rigel »

The protests are really heating up.

For example, see here:
www.politicususa.com/en/police-mace-two ... all-street

(The first video was extremely poor quality; the second one on that page is much clearer)

I've been hearing for close to 20 years stories about how societies tend to revolt when the wage gap reaches a certain level. While I don't think the US is close to an armed revolution yet, Occupy Wall Street is certainly a bad sign. Of course, the real problem with economic troubles is that there's noone to be angry at. So, people are protesting the symbol of the systemic problems we've been facing, Wall Street itself.

What other videos have people found that stand out about it, and why isn't this on the news?
"You make me think Hell is run like a corporation."
"It's the other way around, but yes."
Obaki, Too Much Information
Cybrweez
The Gap Into Spam

Post by Cybrweez »

I'm not exactly clear on the purpose of this occupy wall street. I've poked around daily kos, just seems a bit unorganized. Maybe you have to be entrenched to know what its all about, what the goals are. May explain why it doesn't get much coverage.

Or, Wall Street owns all the major media outlets.

In any case, hard to really know what it all means. I blame high unemployment and income inequality.
--Andy

"Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur."
Whatever is said in Latin sounds profound.

I believe in the One who says there is life after this.
Now tell me how much more open can my mind be?
Zarathustra
The Gap Into Spam

Post by Zarathustra »