Anyone here a musician?

Who's listening to what, what's going on in the music industry....

Moderators: StevieG, dANdeLION, lucimay

michaelm
The Gap Into Spam

Anyone here a musician?

Post by michaelm »

Just wondering if anyone else here is a musician? If I could choose what I do for a living, I would certainly be playing music, but I just can't make enough money from doing it, so it remains a hobby for me.

Anyone else play? Do you gig? Do you record any of your material? Write your own songs?
sgt.null
Jack of Odd Trades, Master of Fun

Post by sgt.null »

well I write my own songs.

and I have the following instruments that I don't play all that well...

electric guitar, acoustic guitar, electric bass, standing organ, electronic keyboard, banjo, Kay Dreadnaught.

I can make quite a racket. :)
Lenin, Marx
Marx, Lennon
Good Dog...
Menolly
A Lowly Harper
Location: Harper Hall, Fort Hold, Northern Continent, Pern...

Post by Menolly »

Lot's of Watchers are, and have shared videos of their performances. Perhaps they will link to them again.

I was lucky enough to attend one gig of aTOMiC's and dAN's band a few years ago in Tampa. :thumbsup:
michaelm
The Gap Into Spam

Post by michaelm »

Many years ago I was determine to make a career as a musician, but I haven't gigged in years (other than playing impromptu 'gigs' in front of no more than a dozen people once in a while. Biggest problem is that I can't find people to jam with anymore. Seems like no one in my neighborhood plays at all, unless it's kids who play piano or violin...

I play quite a few instruments though, and of those that I currently own:

The ones I play well are acoustic guitar, electric guitar, bass and mandolin.

Those that I play competently are piano, diatonic harmonica, alto saxophone, concert flute, bansuri (Indian bamboo flute), dizi (Chinese bamboo flute), tin whistle, 5 string banjo.

The ones that I don't play so well are violin, trumpet and chromatic harmonica.