Thomas Covenant and Christ imagery

A place to discuss the books in the FC and SC. *Please Note* No LC spoilers allowed in this forum. Do so in the forum below.

Moderators: kevinswatch, Orlion

Gaius Octavius
The Gap Into Spam

Thomas Covenant and Christ imagery

Post by Gaius Octavius »

Maybe I'm being a little dumb, but what exactly is the significance of the Christ imagery associated with Thomas Covenant? At the end of the first book, the doctor says something like "It must be hell being a leper. I studied overseas and you remind me of the crucifixion of Christ." At the end of the third book, Covenant is strapped to his hospital bed, and it is described as looking like he is crucified.
Lord Foul's Bane wrote:Then the doctor gave him a ride in a wheelchair down to the discharge exit. outside the building, the doctor suddenly began to talk as if in some oblique way he were trying to apologize for not keeping Covenant in the hospital. "It must be hell to be a leper," he said rapidly. "I'm trying to understand. It's like-- I studied in Heidelberg, years ago, and while I was there I saw a lot of medieval art. Especially religious art. Being a leper reminds me of statues of the Crucifixion made during the Middle Ages. There is Christ on the Cross, and his features --- his body, even his face -- are portrayed so blandly that the figure is unrecognizable. It could be anyone, man or woman. But the wounds -- the nails in the hands and feet, the spear in the side, the crown of thorns -- are carved and even painted in incredibly vivid detail. You would think the artist crucified his model to get that kind of realism.

"Being a leper must be like that."
The Power That Preserves wrote:...Covenant tried to take stock of his situation. His right wrist was also tied, so that he lay in the bed as if he had been crucified...