The creators choices

A place to discuss the books in the FC and SC. *Please Note* No LC spoilers allowed in this forum. Do so in the forum below.

Moderators: kevinswatch, Orlion

Sivit na-Morham
Servant of the Land

The creators choices

Post by Sivit na-Morham »

Throughout the Chronicles those who are summoned are chosen by the creator. The exception to this may (or may not) be Hile Troy. In LFB I thought that the summons coinsided with the desires of the creator. But Hile Troy does not refer to an old man on an ocher robe that I recall. He was dying or about to on the burning building when he was summoned. But then Linden was Chosen as was TC. Is it possible or even likely that summonings cannot take place without the approval of the creator? Or must the summons be answered, but the creator gets to pick?

Sivit
Rockbrother
Servant of the Land

Post by Rockbrother »

Greetings. This is my first time here. A wonderful site, obviously a labor of love.

I always looked at the creator as existing beyond the two worlds. He could reach into 'our world' but the Arch prevented him from doing the same in the land. So I think his only role was to choose Covenant. I never thought he had control over whethter or not someone could be summoned. If my memory serves (and it has been awhile) I think there was a passage somewhere that talks about how the creator would be helpless if all Foul wanted to do was rule over the land instead of bring white gold in to destroy it.

Which only goes to prove the old cliche: Being a god ain't all its cracked up to be. :)
Vain
Nom

Post by Vain »

Rockbrother wrote:Greetings. This is my first time here. A wonderful site, obviously a labor of love.
Love is never a labour :) It's a communal effort ;)

If you're starting reading the Chrons again, then the Dissecting the Land may be a good place to start :)
Davin
Servant of the Land

Post by Davin »