PSA

Free, open, general chat on any topic.

Moderators: Orlion, balon!, aliantha

Cail
Lord

PSA

Post by Cail »

Hi y'all. I don't venture out from the Tank very often, unless it's to write about a band, a TV show, or a movie. But something happened last week that I'd like to share, and hopefully motivate some people.

For the unaware, I'm a mortician. I make my living meeting with grieving families, planning funerals, and directing funerals. Literally, I spend my working hours giving everything I have for people who are at the lowest point of their lives. I've seen and heard things that people outside of the industry wouldn't understand.

So to be clear, I spend 50 hours a week surrounded by death and grief. I know beyond a shadow that we're all going to die, and there's nothing we can do about it, and we don't know when it's going to happen.

As such, I take care of myself. I eat right, I don't smoke, I'm in the gym 6 days a week. I'm carrying a few extra pounds, but I'm working on that. I probably drink a bit too much, but not excessively. My BP is consistently within 5 points of 125/80. I have the blood chemistry of someone half my age.

So imagine my surprise when I woke up a week ago Saturday and it felt like someone was standing on my chest. Inhaling more than shallowly was agonizing. But I'm me, so I suffered through the day until about 8, when I looked at my daughter and said, "we need to go to the emergency room right now".

Let me tell you, when you walk into an emergency room and say, "chest pain", you immediately become the center of attention. As they were strapping sensors to me to see what was going on, a nurse was doing the intake questions, one of which was, "do you have a medical directive, DNR, living will, etc?"