THE COMIC BOOK THREAD: What do you have? What do you like?

Look! Up in the sky! *To be continued...* (This story continued in KW Comics #263)

Moderators: dANdeLION, aTOMiC, sgt.null

aTOMiC
Lord

THE COMIC BOOK THREAD: What do you have? What do you like?

Post by aTOMiC »

What do you want?

I've been collecting comic books since I was about 12 years old. I was given, what I thought at the time, a sizable collection by older my brother Ron who got them from a friend of his. It was a fairly even split of Marvel and DC and for some reason I latched on to the Marvel characters right away (especially Iron Man). Today I own a collection of over 3,000 books which features a complete and unbroken run of "Invincible Iron Man" (Tales of Suspense, guest appearances and one shot specials I might be lacking) I wish I could say they were all in mint condition but alas I cannot. I continue to purchase new comics but my enthusiasm for contemporary books has lessened over the years. The harsh, bloody brutality depicted in the most popular titles is unappealing to me so I prefer to search for unread back issues from the 60's 70's and 80's. Marvel Comics rule my mind and my collection but I have a variety of DC, Valiant, Image, Atlas, Gold Key and so on. I would love to have a full run of Fantastic Four, Avengers, Amazing Spiderman and just about every other Marvel character or group. Only disposable income and availability prevents me from realizing my dream.
"If you can't tell the difference, what difference does it make?"

"There is tic and toc in atomic" - Neil Peart
Loredoctor
Lord

Post by Loredoctor »

I grew up writing and drawing my own comics. Gave it up nine years ago. I used to read alot of comics when I was young.
Waddley wrote:your Highness Sir Dr. Loredoctor, PhD, Esq, the Magnificent, First of his name, Second Cousin of Dragons, White-Gold-Plate Wielder!
dANdeLION
Lord

Post by dANdeLION »