Manga (not anime)

Look! Up in the sky! *To be continued...* (This story continued in KW Comics #263)

Moderators: dANdeLION, aTOMiC, sgt.null

Worm of Despite
Lord

Manga (not anime)

Post by Worm of Despite »

Any Japanophiles out there into manga? I'm just beginning my journey into the genre, but I must say I think I prefer them over American-style comics. Their depth of plot and characterization reminds me of graphic novels, while at the same time retaining an episodic/serial nature.

I've been reading two series: Trigun and Love Hina. Trigun is basically the Gunsmoke of manga--a bit of Western, sci-fi, punk, and frenetic anime action all rolled into one package.

Love Hina is my personal favorite, though. It's a 14-volume series, and I've been devouring it lately. It's a very old plot--boy in charge of an all-girl dorm--but it comes off very sincere, rather than a fan service. The characters are fun (and flawed, too), and the plot arc is addictive and compelling. Being hilarious and having great animation ain't bad, either. ;)

So if anyone's new to manga, I'd definitely recommend Love Hina as their "first step." Trigun is a bit of a visual blitz--quite confusing in some parts, but Love Hina's quite clear to my Western eye.
Last edited by Worm of Despite on Wed Jun 21, 2006 2:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Menolly
A Lowly Harper
Location: Harper Hall, Fort Hold, Northern Continent, Pern...

Post by Menolly »

I'm a real anime novice, as all I know are Pokemon, Yu-Gi-Oh, the various Dragonball series (although Paul did download all of Dragonball GT with sub-titles as a gift to Beorn a couple of years ago), Yu Yu Hakisho, and my favorite Sailor Moon. But, I've mostly only seen the Cartoon Network versions.

I have read online synopses of Sailor Moon, but have never seen an unedited non-DIC version of the show. I would love to see some of the things in the full versions!
CovenantJr
Lord

Re: Manga

Post by CovenantJr »