The Rise and Fall of Empires RULES & General Discussion
Moderator: Goatkiller666
- I'm Murrin
- Are you?
- Posts: 15840
- Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 1:09 pm
- Location: North East, UK
- Contact:
- Erkirithi-Sha
- Ramen
- Posts: 92
- Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 7:07 am
- Location: The First Circle
Once again, how does my empire make these smiley faces with sunglasses to purchase such an item?Loremaster wrote:
Transport (Armoured Battalion) (8) - Large starships used for transporting armoured battalions. They possess no weapons or defenses.
to fleets and planets, as well as sustain much damage.
"To promote the Empire of the Erkirithi-Sha, through science, and through the Assisted-Divinity of the Everlasting Emperor; to advance and to evolve always forward, throwing off the mawkish sentimentality of lesser beings; to suffer no imposition; and to accept no destiny but that which we make. These were the aims of The Servants of The Emperor, and these are the aims of all true Erkirithi. Long shall prevail the will of the Emperor" - the last words of Ukule-Thaid, convicted of the assassination of Chairman Kleth, 432nd cycle.
- Loredoctor
- Lord
- Posts: 18609
- Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2002 11:35 pm
- Location: Melbourne, Victoria
- Contact:
- Loredoctor
- Lord
- Posts: 18609
- Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2002 11:35 pm
- Location: Melbourne, Victoria
- Contact:
- Loredoctor
- Lord
- Posts: 18609
- Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2002 11:35 pm
- Location: Melbourne, Victoria
- Contact:
- Loredoctor
- Lord
- Posts: 18609
- Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2002 11:35 pm
- Location: Melbourne, Victoria
- Contact:
Important Announcement
Starting next turn (although it will not really be applicable until next financial turn), players cannot state that they will spending the expected income (that is, the money that they earn that turn). They spend whatever is in their savings, and then following the financial turn they can spend the new income. Otherwise it throws the game out (especially since there are some events which have a major impact on income).
Thanks.
Starting next turn (although it will not really be applicable until next financial turn), players cannot state that they will spending the expected income (that is, the money that they earn that turn). They spend whatever is in their savings, and then following the financial turn they can spend the new income. Otherwise it throws the game out (especially since there are some events which have a major impact on income).
Thanks.

Waddley wrote:your Highness Sir Dr. Loredoctor, PhD, Esq, the Magnificent, First of his name, Second Cousin of Dragons, White-Gold-Plate Wielder!
- I'm Murrin
- Are you?
- Posts: 15840
- Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 1:09 pm
- Location: North East, UK
- Contact:
- Loredoctor
- Lord
- Posts: 18609
- Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2002 11:35 pm
- Location: Melbourne, Victoria
- Contact:
I mean writing orders for that turn under the assumption that the finances will come in to allow those orders to be made.Murrin wrote:Can you clarify this--do you mean that people have been spending money from the financial turn when submitting actions for the turn before they receive the money? That seems a little... backward. I'm not sure why anyone would have thought they could do it in the first place.
Waddley wrote:your Highness Sir Dr. Loredoctor, PhD, Esq, the Magnificent, First of his name, Second Cousin of Dragons, White-Gold-Plate Wielder!
- I'm Murrin
- Are you?
- Posts: 15840
- Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 1:09 pm
- Location: North East, UK
- Contact:
I'm still not sure what is meant by this. I count a 'turn' as starting when I receive Lore's message, and ending after I send in my actions. So "writing orders for that turn" to me means being told "we have []CCs" and then writing actions that spend those CCs, and I can't see how that would be wrong.
If it's the other way around--people writing orders before they receive the funds--then it seems too obvious that it wouldn't work that way and I can't see how anyone would have made the mistake.
If it's the other way around--people writing orders before they receive the funds--then it seems too obvious that it wouldn't work that way and I can't see how anyone would have made the mistake.
- Mistress Cathy
- <i>Haruchai</i>
- Posts: 745
- Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:32 pm
- Location: Around the world....
- Loredoctor
- Lord
- Posts: 18609
- Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2002 11:35 pm
- Location: Melbourne, Victoria
- Contact:
What I mean is that some people submit their orders for the financial turn but have no money to do those things. Like this:
Player X (15CCs)
Turn 2
-Improve Industry (15)
Note that they have no more money.
Turn 3
-Improve Industry (15)
They receive 22CCs.
They cannot use the CCs they receive in Turn Three to spend on the orders.
Turn 4
-Improve Industry
They can use the money now.
Player X (15CCs)
Turn 2
-Improve Industry (15)
Note that they have no more money.
Turn 3
-Improve Industry (15)
They receive 22CCs.
They cannot use the CCs they receive in Turn Three to spend on the orders.
Turn 4
-Improve Industry
They can use the money now.
Waddley wrote:your Highness Sir Dr. Loredoctor, PhD, Esq, the Magnificent, First of his name, Second Cousin of Dragons, White-Gold-Plate Wielder!
- I'm Murrin
- Are you?
- Posts: 15840
- Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 1:09 pm
- Location: North East, UK
- Contact:
Okay, I get it. The reason I didn't get it right away is because I think of it the other way--I'd see that particular chain as:
Turn 1
They have 15CCs.
-Improve Industry (15)
Turn 2
They have no more money.
-Improve Industry (15)
Turn 3
They receive 22CCs.
-Improve Industry
Which of course makes the idea of spending money in the second instance seem quite clearly wrong. It's odd to find out that some people might view it the other way round--I see the turns on this game as 'receive summary>submit response', but apparently you and some others see it as 'submit action>receive result'.
Turn 1
They have 15CCs.
-Improve Industry (15)
Turn 2
They have no more money.
-Improve Industry (15)
Turn 3
They receive 22CCs.
-Improve Industry
Which of course makes the idea of spending money in the second instance seem quite clearly wrong. It's odd to find out that some people might view it the other way round--I see the turns on this game as 'receive summary>submit response', but apparently you and some others see it as 'submit action>receive result'.
- Loredoctor
- Lord
- Posts: 18609
- Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2002 11:35 pm
- Location: Melbourne, Victoria
- Contact:
Well, technically it is both. If you count the pre-game email as receive summary, it's:Murrin wrote:Which of course makes the idea of spending money in the second instance seem quite clearly wrong. It's odd to find out that some people might view it the other way round--I see the turns on this game as 'receive summary>submit response', but apparently you and some others see it as 'submit action>receive result'.
'receive summary>submit action>receive result'
Waddley wrote:your Highness Sir Dr. Loredoctor, PhD, Esq, the Magnificent, First of his name, Second Cousin of Dragons, White-Gold-Plate Wielder!
- I'm Murrin
- Are you?
- Posts: 15840
- Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 1:09 pm
- Location: North East, UK
- Contact:
- Loredoctor
- Lord
- Posts: 18609
- Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2002 11:35 pm
- Location: Melbourne, Victoria
- Contact:
I suppose the message is the official turn. Your orders are the factors that affect that turn.Murrin wrote:Yes, I was simplifying somewhat.It's just that though it's not a distinct divisoon, I still tend to consider receipt of the message from yourself as constituting the beginning of a new turn.
Waddley wrote:your Highness Sir Dr. Loredoctor, PhD, Esq, the Magnificent, First of his name, Second Cousin of Dragons, White-Gold-Plate Wielder!
- I'm Murrin
- Are you?
- Posts: 15840
- Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 1:09 pm
- Location: North East, UK
- Contact: